The Serpent

From day one the serpent had twisted his way into our minds,
I find he has had an easy time reaching mine,
Strangling me in sin,
Making it harder to get into worship,
Diluting my purpose,
There was a time when he did wind,
His tail around my throat and he suffocated me,
I had lost all hope,
I popped open that pill bottle,
One swift action away from death,
It would have been easy to take this weight off my chest,
This life has never been easy,
It’s been a challenge at best,
It hasn’t felt like a test,
No it’s more like an essay,
Stained with my trials,
Reconciled in Christ,
See Christ stopped me from ending my own life,
He made me think twice,
He told me to put down the dice,
For the first time,
I took a breath and there was life,
I knew this pain just wouldn’t suffice,
I changed my mind-set,
I grew,
Left the old me behind,
Left my room renewed,
See the enemy is weak,
He hides in the shadows,
And our God is great,
He brings me to my knees,
He took my sin the gallows,
Washed in the blood of the Lamb,
A new man,
Walks this earth,
One who knows what it’s like to live in the dirt,
Now I can spread his message,
I can bring others to him,
And rejoice to the heavens,
For my life is borrowed,
It’s not mine,
I lived a life of sorrow and crime,
Now those things are left behind,
I kicked them to the curb,
Now I live through one single word,
Christ,
The man who gave his life,
So we could keep ours,
He’s the one who wears the scars.

Leave a Reply

